Facebook Will Preemptively Close Pages of Owners Who Previously Broke Rules
Facebook announced improvements to their Page content quality features to make sure that content shared on its platform found to break its Community Standards does not escape the counter-measures put in place to prevent distribution.
Starting tomorrow, a new tab added to the management dashboard named “Page Quality” will allow managers to see when Facebook removes posts that break the platform’s rules or have been rated as false news by its third-party fact-checkers.
According to Facebook, “The new Page Quality tab is designed to help people who manage Pages understand how well their Pages comply with our guidelines.”
The Page Quality tab includes two sections:
1. Content we recently removed for violating a subset of our Community Standards and;
2. Content recently rated “False,” “Mixture” or “False Headline” by third-party fact-checkers.
Although Page managers will be able to see content removed for a wide range of reasons (e.g., hate speech, graphic violence, harassment and bullying, and regulated goods, nudity or sexual activity, and support or praise of people and events banned on the platform), posts removed because of spam, clickbait, or IP violations will not be included.
Moreover, Facebook also updated its recidivism policy to make sure that Page owners who previously broke Community Standards will not be able to use other pages they control to continue this type of activity.
This second measure will be rolled out and enforced during the coming weeks and will make sure that repeating offenders will no longer be able to circumvent Facebook’s rules.
To address this gap, when we remove a Page or group for violating our policies, we may now also remove other Pages and Groups even if that specific Page or Group has not met the threshold to be unpublished on its own. To enforce this updated policy, we’ll look at a broad set of information, including whether the Page has the same people administering it, or has a similar name, to one we’re removing.
Read the original article over at BleepingComputer.com.